American Numismatic Association C-131170

The American Numismatic Association was founded in 1891 by Dr. George F. Heath in Chicago, Illinois. The ANA was formed to advance the knowledge of numismatics (the study of money) along educational, historical and scientific lines, as well as enhance interest in the hobby.

The ANA national headquarters and museum is located in Colorado Springs, Colorado. It claims a membership of over 30,000 and offers memberships for various terms, including one year, three years, five years, and a lifetime membership for $1,000 US. In 1912 the association received a Federal Charter by the United States Congress for its work in the field of numismatics.

The association’s official monthly journal is the Numismatist and its editor-in-chief is Barbara J. Gregory. Many articles are contributed by members of the Association.